GREEN smoothies!

Last post, I wrote about my addiction to acai smoothies.  My new favorite drink (as of today) is HOMEMADE (of course) green smoothies.  Until today, I’ve always bought these at juice shops…until I realized that that is a waste of money  – because they are super easy to make at home! Plus, I learned that juicers take out a lot of the nutrition – so it’s best to use a blender.

There are so many different recipes that you can use with greens as a base, but here is the one that I used tonight:

-kale greens

-spinach greens

-collard greens

-1 mango

-handle of blueberries

-1 banana

-1/4-1/2 of a pineapple

-1 squeezed lemon

-ginger (go easy on the ginger! a little goes a long way)

-flax seed

Voila! I blended the greens with some water first (since they take up so much room in the blender) and then slowly added in all of the other ingredients.  The end result is pretty tasty (I confess that I was too lazy to lay out all of the ingredients for this photo/post….but those are some of the greens I used…). I swear it tastes better than it looks!

IMG_0514-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

